Week Thirty Eight.

Yowza, 38 weeks.  Two weeks from today is my due date.  TWO WEEKS.  It feels like it’s practically tomorrow in one sense (i.e., grand scheme of things, space-time continuum and all of that), but on the other hand it feels like it’s soooo far away (i.e., every step I take hurts and I feel like a beached whale).

You see, when you’re told at 32 weeks pregnant that your baby could come “at any time” and then you’re put on bed rest for the duration of your pregnancy, you get into a certain mindset.  One where every Friday, you and your husband have the same exchange:  “Well, this weekend could be the last weekend we have without a baby!”  “I know!  It’s so crazy that she could come at any time!”  Lather, rinse, and repeat for 6+ weeks.  That’s where we are.

Don’t get me wrong…I’m so, so thankful that she’s stayed put for as long as she has, and I know I’m not even to my due date yet…but with everyone making grand proclamations of “you’ll have this baby before the Super Bowl!” and “I’m SURE you’re going to go early!” and also commenting on the status of your belly dropping (seriously….everyone has an opinion on whether or not I’ve dropped, even the cashier at Walgreen’s who has never seen me before in my life) you start thinking that you’re going to go early, too.  Well, it’s time for a switch up of the mindset – as such, I’ve started preparing myself for the possibility that she’s decided that she’s so comfortable in there, and I’m to go past her due date.

This mindset has been helped along by my doctor checking me and revealing that while yes, baby’s head is definitely down (and pressing against my cervix quite forcefully), I’m not dilated/effaced one iota.  Nada.  Zilch.  Now, I know that essentially this can mean nothing and on message boards you hear tales of women going to their doctor’s appointments in the morning and showing zero signs of progress, only to be in full-blown labor by dinnertime….but when you’re waddling and aching and it feels like you’re carrying around a very poky badger inside of your tummy, you like to see *some* signs that your body is moving things in the right direction.

Oh, did I mention that on Friday my doctor also scheduled my next three (!)  (!!!!) weekly appointments, the last of which is for March 2nd, aka 4 days past my due date?  Yep…I asked him about the chance that we’d have to schedule an induction, and he said that he’s “quite confident” that I’ll go into labor “sometime the week of my due date.”   He’s comfortable with my fluid levels and how the baby is growing, and said that if I hadn’t gone into labor by the time my last appointment rolled around on March 2nd, we’d look at potentially scheduling something for the following week, but we’d cross that bridge when we got to it.    Mmmkay.  I’ll just keep on keepin’ on.

_  _  _  _

How far along?:  38 weeks

Total weight gain/loss:  10+ pounds.  Although I will say that between my appointment at 36 weeks and my appointment at 37 weeks, I lost 4 pounds.  My doc chalked this up to water retention, but still…it felt like a minor victory.

The Bump:   Large and in charge.

What I’m excited about/looking forward to:  Not over-thinking every little twinge as maybe perhaps a labor pain.

Symptoms:  Fatigue, pain in my pelvis while walking, yadda yadda.  Although I will say that my hip bone pain has been a little bit better at night…but I’ve started waking up at 4 AM to use the bathroom only to not be able to fall back asleep.

 Belly Button in or out?:   Poking out of my shirts at the top, but completely flat at the bottom.

Food Cravings/Aversions:  Chocolate.  Orange juice/oranges.  Pizza.

What I miss:  Everything related to a good night’s sleep, mostly.  I have a feeling, however, I’m going to miss her kicks once she arrives!

Milestones: Going with my “every week is a milestone now” mantra.

_  _  _  _

 

7 Comments to “Week Thirty Eight.”

  1. I’m with you on the pain when walking. How does something so tiny create such pain?? Also, I’m still in disbelief that things are so close now. I mean, how did this happen?? How are there 2 weeks left? I still remember when you announced it!

  2. At least you’re ready, instead of being surprised by early labor when you thought you still had a month left to prepare?? :) I’m just really happy the bed rest has worked and she’s stayed in there safe and sound for as long as possible. Well… hopefully not as long as POSSIBLE… maybe just til the week of your due date. ;)

  3. I’ll third that with the pain thing!! You and Kelsey and I are all on the same page — ready for EVICTION! Hahaha
    Glad that your baby girl decided to stay put though, fingers crossed she comes out all on her own soon. :)

  4. You’re almost there! I can’t believe it…you, Kelsey and Jessica are all going to have babies so soon. So exciting! You look lovely and glowing and I can’t wait for you to meet your little girl! :)

  5. Happy to read you made it to 38 weeks. Good luck!

  6. Looking good, momma!! It won’t be much longer & I can’t wait to meet her!

  7. OMG…I just realized you’re due right around the same time as one of my girlfriends. She’s due on leap year!

    So excited that your little lady could be here any day! You look amazing and I cannot wait to hear all about her welcome into this world!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

