Archive for April 10th, 2012

April 10, 2012

L’s Loves.

Little miss L will be 6 weeks old tomorrow! On one hand, It’s amazing that she’s already 6 weeks old. On the other…it feels like it’s been much longer! To commemorate this occasion (and to possibly help out any mommies-to-be reading this) I give you L’s Loves: a list of things we couldn’t have lived without these first six weeks.

Eating:
Similac Simply Smart bottles – As I mentioned in my last post, I tried several types of bottles before deciding that these worked best for us. We tried Medela, Dr. Brown’s, Avent, Breastflow, and Playtex Drop-Ins. Whew.

The Similac bottles seem to mix better and keep more air out of L’s tummy than any of the others I tried. The Drop-Ins were horrible (can’t mix in them, can’t use a warmer with them) and the Dr. Brown’s were just okay and not worth the hassle of the 500 pieces you have to put together to use them. The downside to the Similac bottles is that I feel like a billboard for Similac when I use them. (All things considered, I guess that’s not so bad.)

Sleeping:
For the first 4 weeks, the Woombie was our best friend at bedtime. It kept L from flailing her arms and waking herself up. Then, at 5 weeks, she wanted her hands by her face at all costs – the Woombie was out.

Enter: the Halo Swaddle SleepSack. It still swaddles her and keeps her from flailing, but she can still move her arms up by her face. We have 1 in fleece (too warm now to use) and 1 in cotton. Every baby is different, but I’m glad we had more than 1 swaddle option on hand.

White noise – We have white noise apps on both of our iPhones, and we have a white noise machine for her bedroom. Can’t live (or get her to sleep for long stretches) without it.

Open-Bottomed Nightgowns – Nobody wants to fumble with snaps and zippers at 3 AM. These are awesome for quick nighttime diaper changes.

Living:
Graco Pack ‘n Play with the Newborn Napper – L has slept in the newborn napper portion of this almost every night. It wraps around her and cuddles her, which I think she likes. I shudder to think about transitioning her to her crib, but it must be done at some point soon – she’s tall and is almost too long for it!

Fisher Price Snuggabunny Swing – We received the Little Lamb FP swing from my sister, and L loves it – some days, it’s the only thing to calm her down. We went out & bought this version (which plugs in) after going through 3 packages of D batteries in a week.

* I will also note here that after determining that L likes the swing, we bought the mamaRoo. We thought it was a slam dunk – a “car ride” setting? Fantastic! Sadly, I can’t recommend the ‘Roo. Even on the highest setting, it moved way too slowly for L’s tastes. At over $200, I think there are better swings for your money. Luckily, we were able to return ours. *

Mom’s Must Haves
Baby Connect app – this keeps tabs on everything baby related so you don’t have to. Diapers, feedings, sleep times…you name it, you can log it. It also syncs up so other users (dad, grandma) can enter data. A must have when it’s 2:30 AM and you can’t remember how long it’s been since she ate.

Amazon Kindle/iBooks – for entertainment when rocking a fussy baby back to sleep (especially when that fussy baby stares at and is stimulated by the tv).

I’m sure there are things I’m missing, but these are the highlights from the first 6 weeks. Sorry for the lack of pictures/links-I’m posting from my phone. Which reminds me of another thing I love and can’t live without these days – my iPhone!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.